1. Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

Pupils in our reception classes follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum, with its focus on structured and stimulating play based learning.

There are seven areas of learning and development that shape lesson planning in our three Reception classes. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the prime areas, are:

• communication and language;

• physical development; and

• personal, social and emotional development.

We also support the children in the four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. They are:

• literacy;

• mathematics;

• understanding the world; and

• expressive arts and design.

Here are the seven areas of learning in a little more detail.

Communication and language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.

Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children are given access to a wide range of reading materials to ignite their interest.

Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measures.

Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.

2. Balgowan Creative Curriculum

All pupils in Key Stages 1 and  2 follow the Balgowan Creative Curriculum which  links to the requirements of the National Curriculum and the locally agreed syllabus for Religious Education.

Our creative curriculum provides opportunities  for children to acquire key life skills and “agreed” knowledge in meaningful contexts where they are all challenged. It  builds on the Early Year Foundation Stage  curriculum seven areas of learning. There is  an emphasis on  cross curricular links to foster a broader understanding, with plenty of  opportunities for practical work, the development of thinking skills, in depth  study and independence.

We aim to ensure that all our pupils are provided with relevant and appropriately challenging work at each Key Stage and that all curriculum opportunities are both broad and balanced.